X is for xiphophyllous

Weather has been lovely again today. Dry and bright but still a bit chilly. Went to the hairdressers this afternoon - 3rd time lucky - I actually got my hair cut. Not keen on going to the hairdressers but I'm quite pleased with today's result.

Mooched around Newcastle afterwards- bit of shopping and to The Theatre Royal to pick up a ticket. Evita is on this week and as I had seen a theatre production of it before I had decided not to bother going. However I read the reviews which said it was great and so popular that they are putting on an extra matinee performance on Friday. So I went online this morning to see if there were any tickets left for Friday. Most of the stalls was full except at the very back. But I did manage to find a seat in the Grand Circle in the 2nd row so I booked that.

Forum Challenge letter today is X. What a tricky letter. Came across the word xiphophyllous which means " with sword shaped leaves ". So I have blipped the cordyline plant in my back garden. It was originally 10 feet tall but was snapped in a storm in February 2011. I left the lower part of the trunk in the soil and slowly but surely it began to grow again.

Whilst looking for words beginning with X I discovered Xenodocheionology which is love of hotels and inns.. Who knew!.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.