Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Oh, how the mighty fall

I counted the rings on a cross-section of my fallen willow tree (the one that fell over from our recent snow storm) and there were roughly 22 - 24 rings. Each growth ring represents the passage of one year in the life of the tree, making this tree about the same age as my younger son.

Twenty four years to grow to its magnificent 30+ foot height, yet within 60 minutes, the tree service that I hired had her reduced to a truckload of wood chips.

There is a rather large stump still in place, and I will address that another time (too costly to do everything all at once!). What shall I plant in its place, or should I say, in its honor? Perhaps another willow. It makes me ponder where I'll be, and how my life may unfold over the time it will take another tree to reach maturity. Come what may, I fully intend to document the highs, the lows, and the in-betweens in my ongoing blipfoto journal.


Look, the trees! They're moving!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.