Honouring the Passed

I have always wanted to share this Chinese tradition with the blippers. I hope it doesn't offend any Chinese people who visit the site but I think this tradition is a wonderful thing. If anyone is offended in the slightest, I will take it down.

This lady is burning replica paper money. A circle is made with baijiu (white wine) and inside the paper 'money' is placed and burned. Sometimes other articles, photos etc.. are also burned. The money is to ensure that relatives who have passed away have enough money to spend in the afterlife. The money should be burned at a busy intersection because there is more chance that one's relatives will pass by a busy intersection.

I think it is a wonderful way to remember those who have gone before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.