0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"It sounds glamorous but in reality it's not."
"What's so hard about selling wine?"
"The price point."



This afternoon I met up with the infamous blipper MrJohn (sorry folks, I didn't get the opportunity to photograph him today ;))

We had a wander through town, stopping off at a tattoo shop where J had made enquiries about taking photos last week. We then stopped off at a relatively new venue, the Belgrave Music Hall, at the edge of town for a spot of lunch and chat.

After a tasty pizza lunch, we headed over to the market so J could drop off some prints. By pure coincidence we bumped into Paul just as we got there. Having met him I can say he is such a gentle soul, I really felt for him thinking back to reading J's story last week.

While I was waiting for J to have a chat with Purdy's owner I spotted two small girls who were dressed similarly. I approached the mother and asked if they were twins, and whether I could take their picture. They were around two years old and quite a handful for their mum who constantly had to keep hold of their hands to ensure they didn't run off somewhere! I couldn't have a proper chat with her because of it so had to let her go, thanked her and re-joined J.

We headed out of the market back into town when we spotted Matt here. He looked a bit lost but I know why that was after speaking to him. Matt is a wine merchant, but he told me he was actually scouting for a place to open his own wine shop in Leeds. The place we were stood outside looked like a great space and he was interested in the Kirkgate Quarter as a whole, thinking it would be up and coming in a few years time.

Finally, we popped into ArtOfficial to see Mikey. We enquired about getting some of our portraits put up in the place, not for commercial purposes but a mini-exhibition with J’s Market Portraits, and my 'Humans'. Mikey gave us the (great) news that the shop was relocating to a much bigger space, over four floors, around the corner and if we contacted the owner he was sure he would agree. It seems like the ideal opportunity so watch this space!

I had to get back to work so said goodbye to J, who went onto meet Spartan and from the sounds of it take a LOT more portraits.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.