Frequent visitor

A trip to minotr injuries after work today as I was back to feeling dizzy, disoriented and off balance today. I headed down at three and waited for a bit only for the nurse there to say she'd rather I saw a doctor. She then went on to explain that she'd like to refer me to A&E but they could only refer patients to the Royal Infirmary and since I was from Wueensferry the ERI would insist I went to Livingston St John's. This is despite the fact that Queensferry is part of the City of Edinburgh rather than West Lothian.

So the nurse gave me a copy of her nites to take out so I'd only need to see a doctor when I got to Livi. I met Roz from her work and we picked up Maddy and headed to Livi where I havded over the information from the nurse and explained I needed to see a doctor. There was a big sign up at th eback saying the wait to see a doctor was 2 hours which was no problem as they were busy, it was an hour even to see a nurse.

After over an hour and a half my name got called and through I went.....

....Only to see a nurse. She asked me exactly the same questions and filled in exactly the same form I'd already had done then informed me for the second time today that I'dneedtosee a doctor not a nurse.

Feeling a bit frustrated I asked how long, thinking that, having seen a nurse, it might be a quick referral, no such luck two hours I was told. Since it had taken 50% longer to see a nurse than quoted I decided to give up. They got a bit concerned and said I really shoud see a doctor so I pointed out that that was exactly what I said when I arrived.

Oh well, hopefully I'll be ok for the night and I can go and see my doctor tomorrow. Don't get me wrong I don't hold the staff at fault at all just the silly bloody procedural hoops they have to jump through. If minor injuries had been able to make a referral for me it would have been far less hassle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.