Last Time

This is the last tax disc I shall ever buy for any vehicle. The disc is to be abolished later this year and an electronic register will take the place of the bit of perforated paper that fits into a plastic holder on the windscreen.

A sensible change but I shall miss the ritual of pressing out the disc and always tearing a wee corner. And the pile of them that accumulated in the plastic wallet the longer you kept the car.

Not that I am feeling sentimental about cars today. I was in Inveraray for a meeting at lunchtime when the A83 was closed by an accident. I had to drive back to Dunoon for two further meetings (both of which I missed) via Crianlarich and a very busy, very slow moving Loch Lomond road. It took me well over two hours - more than double the time I would have taken on the direct route.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.