Waiting for the boat to return

An important part of my CPD programme is regular Peer Review meetings. Those meetings were always easy to arrange and attend when I was still working for the District Health Board. Held onsite, during or at the end of the working day, with colleagues working for the same DHB.

When I left the public sector, I continued to attend the same peer group, and it was only a little more difficult. Over time the group numbers waxed and waned, mostly waned. Additionally, two others in the group also left that employer. So the long standing members of the group (five of us) resolved to meet in the evenings. I have blipped one or two of those meetings.

In the last twelve months one member has left the country, and another has fully retired. We have enlisted a fourth member, and continued to meet. Organising the first meeting of the year has often been a challenge. I suggested we change our habit for this one meeting, and I invited my peers to the beach house for lunch and meeting. Today.

We have been fortunate with the weather. A beautiful warm day with only a mild wind, meant that sitting outside for food and talk was enjoyable. Discussed serious issues, and tried to solve the problems in the system.

First thing this morning I had my daily run. A few minutes before the sun rose above Kawau Island I ran past this tractor, parked on the grass between the road and the beach. Still attached to the boat trailer, sans boat. I guess the boat was out on the bay with its occupants seeking fish for breakfast, lunch or dinner. A lovely day for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.