Mark Mayo, photographer

By marksmayo

St Kilda Penguins

For a while I'd been wanting to see the fairy penguins in St Kilda. A few failed attempts last year, and now finally a friend was back in town, and after a few drinks, we headed down to St Kilda to find them. A bit late to see them arrive, they were hiding in their rocky nests around the breakwater, but we saw a few. I also discovered they're very hard to photograph, as you can't use a flash, and it's very dark. This is literally the only non-blurry shot that I have.

After that, a second friend who had joined us had a car, so we took the opportunity to go and drive around the Grand Prix track. I have photos of that I'd love to upload, but such is the limitation of one-a-day photography :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.