CameraHappy

By CameraHappy

Changes over Time

This month I have decided to challenge myself with taking a portrait each day. (I may have to fill in some days with self portraits if I don't find a model.) I would like to try a variety of styles, props and techniques. My preference generally, is the more traditional classic portrait. In this regard, I greatly admire the work of Yousuf Karsh. I use a quote of his on my business card: "The heart and mind are the true lens of the camera."

However, I have learned to appreciate some of the more modern styles, including high key and unusual angles. Or, portraits where the person or couple is very tiny in comparison to the background, and those with unique props, for example, a grad sitting on a suitcase on the highway in her gown.

Hopefully, I will learn and pass along a few new ideas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.