View in Gieselwerder at the Burghaus

Just a little bit of work in the garden, but at the steepest place. A small edge where I can stand. Not finished yet, but it can wait till later.
After lunch I cycled along the Weser eastwards, a path partly along the highway.
After the first curves the village Wahmbeck shows up at the other side, I saw that the ferry was in service already, after the winterpause. I took some pictures of the ferry crossing the river. From there a path surrounded by large meadows and higher up the slope one sees the village of Gewissensruh, (Literary translation: Rest of the Conscience) a place where the fled Huguenots found a safe heaven like they did in Karlshafen.
This far I had not cycled earlier (not that it is very far, but still) and I enjoyed my surroundings a lot, so I cycled till Gieselwerder, where I took my picture.
Not for the first time I took this sight, Piet Hein and I had some yeards ago gone there by car.
The sun that had stayed behind the clouds more or less, now showed her yellow face and it made my route back pleasant.
I came home with a bunch of snowdrops, and I put some in the earth at the foot of the hut.

My haiku:

Gentle green meadows
Empty yet from the cattle
One heron had a feast

And the proverb:

Hickledly, pickledy, one among another.

1678 in J.Ray, A Collection of English Proverbs.

Meaning: reduplications used to signify any confusion or mixture.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.