Greenware Sea Star

Wheel Piece #21
When I pulled the wall up on this piece I was in too much of a hurry, not paying attention to the feel of the clay and I made it too thin near the base so it collapsed in a heap around the center. I coaxed the edges into a sea star shape because I didn't want to concede defeat, which would mean smashing it all back into a clay ball again.
It wasn't great, but it was useable. I let it dry to leather hard stage and the next day I scratched and impaled the outer edges to simulate my interpretation of how the rough skin of a sea star should look.
I'm thinking I'll continue the nautical theme for this candy dish by using Blue Jolie (vivid blue) on the inside to represent the ocean and Malloy (speckled taupe) with dribbles of Tin Mammo (gold,/orange/white) for the outside.

Wheel Piece #21
white stoneware
17.8 cm. wide (7 in.)
5.3 cm. tall (2 in.)
greenware

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.