An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

View from Battlesbury Hill...

...toward the Clump on Scratchbury - and beyond, over Salisbury Plain's Military red-flagged area, as the sun broke through the thick cloud, this morning.

]PLEASE look in LARGE

Walk from first train to Warminster and up past the MOD barracks and up onto Battlesbury Camp Hillfort - apparently having megalithic significance, and 208 m above sea level where I am stood here, to take this. I was following the official public Imber Trail.

Ramparts and field workings can be seen on the left of Scratchbury's base.

I waited nearly an hour to get this shot as I just knew it was all about to burst through and just knew I had the right location!

There was to be many lines of soldiers on fitness training running past me - where I used the proper stiles and gates, they leap-frogged over! Showing off? Probably not... But I did feel a strange feeling how such beautiful landscape could be harbouring our 'war machine' and how the public can mix freely and no sergeant major bawled at me for having my long lens on - though, of course, out of common sense and respect, did not try to photograph them.

The walk then over that Clump you see, and then dropped into Heytesbury, a village about 4 or 5 miles east of Warminster. Very luckily, a local bus soon whisked me back to my journey start and then the train home.

One of those great walks where many many photos were taken but just a couple REALLY stood out.

Lens is Nikkor 16-85mm VR, plus polariser

Looking forward to my very first blipmeet ever, meeting up with RockArea tomorrow as I had already booked a cheap train ticket to Honiton and then on to Sidmouth where we will hopefully both get a great couple of Blips for you!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.