Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Prancing Horse

This was by far the poshest car in the off-street car park in front of the National Concert Hall today. Classy!

I was there for the first of two concerts I went to today in the New Music Dublin festival. The orchestral concert at 1:05 pm saw the orchestra in great form, but they were busily wasting their efforts on Harrison Birtwistle's Earth Dances, which I don't care if I never hear again.

A quick soup-and-a-sandwich lunch in Hourican's pub afterwards, and then I went over to see my neighbour Susan in St Luke's hospital in Rathgar. This is where I had the radiation therapy for my prostate cancer problem, so it was a bit weird being back there. Susan and I had a good old chat for an hour or so and then it was time for me to go back to the National Concert Hall for a chamber recital at 6:00 pm. Again, the Birtwistle piece was the least memorable, but the rest was excellent.

I originally planned to go to two further festival events, one at 8:00 and the other at 10:00 pm, but both were sold out, so I just came home. It was another glorious day, surprising after last night's heavy rain and howling wind, but my programme for the day meant I only got a handful of shots with the camera. Most of them are over at Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.