Rossmore

Cold, grey and breezy today - what a contrast to yesterday. Still, a productive day has been had working on the book though I've spent ages trying to find an interesting bit of information I've mislaid. I am a compulsive note-taker. I have notebooks full of stuff - shopping lists, birthday lists, jottings from walks, scrabble scores, interesting bits of research, book club stuff, things to do lists - the trouble is locating the exact bit of information and the exact notebook. Ah well.

A quick zoom out to buy a newspaper and I had an urge to stop off and take a quick look at the old McCarthy castle. You have to go down a long and winding track and I'm not sure if it's private or not, but it takes you down to the sea and the remains of this tower house, plus attached ramshackle farmbuildings. I love this use of recycling - a small modernish window bunged hopefully into a much large rather magnificent opening. It's a wonderful secret location, surrounded by freshly manured farmland on one side and a small sea inlet on the other. A cow and her small calf eyed me warily as I returned, and there were daffodils in the other fields.
A bit more about it on this fabulous site!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.