A time for everything

By turnx3

Heavy reading!

Despite it being a beautiful day today, you're stuck with an indoor blip. We're at church most Sundays from 8am till 1pm, then after lunch I was doing some housework (I've fallen behind lately!) while Roger was taking advantage of the last nice day for a while to put up the Christmas lights.

The Pillars of the earth was recommended by the teacher of the Medieval Britain class I've been taking - as an excellent portrayal of life in Medieval Britain. For those that aren't familiar with the book, it follows the lives of those involved in the building of a Gothic cathedral, including tales of love and hate, murder and arson , loyalty and treachery. It was a total departure for Ken Follett, who had previously been known as a thriller writer. He has since followed it up with a sequel, World without end. Pillars of the earth is currently being filmed as an eight-hour TV mini series. As you can see, it's going to keep me busy for quite a while - I'm currently on p.61 of 973 - but I'm already hooked!

One year ago: Clean carpets!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.