Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

A Perfect Fit...

... and I only had to move the passenger seat.

After my visit to Elizabeth Station yesterday I dropped in at the ReStore to see what new items they might have. I was very pleased to find a large shipment of 0.75 inch MDO plywood -- very reasonably priced. MDO is a nice smooth surface that doesn't need finishing, but takes paint well.

I only had a few minutes to inspect the material before the store closed, but it looked as if it might be suitable for the Next Big Project (NBP).

This morning I measured the location for the NBP, sketched a rough design, made a material list, and went back to the ReStore. I sorted through a big stack of panels that were the right size. They all had a rabbet on at least one side, and the single-side panels had the rabbets either in the middle or offset. The offset position worked well with my design and I picked out the best ones.

I was very pleased with my purchase; I had intended using plain plywood but this stuff is nicer and cost less. I also have the virtuous feeling that come from using repurposed material.

The icing on the cake was that the panels fit so nicely in the Forester.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.