And more words

Another glorious day today. Lots of sunshine and blue skies. I returned to Keswick in the late afternoon for more Words by the Water. I was hoping for a sunset over the lake as I arrived, as were a few other people, but it didn’t happen. So this is the boat landing stage at the edge of Derwentwater as the last of the sun disappeared behind the hills.

The talk I was going to was given by George Monbiot, well known to all Guardian readers for his outspoken, but almost always brilliant, columns. The talk was called The Case for Rewilding and was basically the ideas set out in his book Feral , which I read last year. I haven’t time to say much about it now as I want to get this posted. I will say more tomorrow, and give some links to those who haven’t read him on this and are interested. Suffice to say now that to call the Lake District hills ‘barren wastelands’ on a stage on the edge of Derwentwater was controversial, to say the least. The place was packed and there were lots of questions, but surprisingly very few dissenters. It was apparently a very different story earlier, but I’ll tell more about that tomorrow!

And just look what happened this day last year!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.