Free Books

One of my favorite things is when I acquire an unexpected stack of free books. Years ago, when I always drove a truck or van, this was not a rare event. A few times, friends called me and urgently asked for my help in making thousands of really good books disappear. I was their last resort before the books went out to the curb. Once it was a huge collection on the History of Christianity. Another time it was Western Philosophy. I sold the books to people all over the world.

These are books that were recently withdrawn from the local public library ("WAL" indicates the Walnut Street Branch). They were offered on a cart by the entrance, and I just happened to stop in to use the WiFi.

I was especially pleased to find the 2-volume set The Philadelphia Campaign by Thomas J. McGuire. It chronicles this area's part of the American Revolution, and I had seen the book in stores but it wasn't in my budget. Now I brought the set home and read the section on the siege of Mud Island (now called Fort Mifflin) in the autumn of 1777. The Continental Army evacuated after six days of intense British bombardment and heavy rains, leaving behind much blood and shattered bone in the cold mud. Over half of the 450 defenders were killed or wounded.

I have visited the fort, which is just a few miles away, (I even blipped it 233 years & 2 days after the siege ended) but I never knew the story of its only battle. Good reading!

I am grateful to all who wrote kind words on the occasion of my third blippaversary. Let's all blip till we flip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.