Kate Sheppard House and Garden

I'm only at the entrance of 83 Clyde Rd, the originally the home of Kate and William Sheppard.

New Zealand was the first country to enfranchise women, a notable event in our nation’s history. Kate Sheppard played a key role in this achievement. She led the suffrage movement in New Zealand.

This campaign succeeded in 1893 with women obtaining the right to vote for members of the House of Representatives. It was an important event which impacted around the world, a major step towards women achieving greater equality within society.

Good old Kate! I'm certainly grateful for what she achieved. I can't imagine what it would be like to not be able to vote.

I'm also grateful I was able to go for a little walk at lunch time and blip this just a few doors from where I work :-)

Physio was very pleased with my progress this morning. I have various exercises and instructions to increase the loading on my foot. I'm still on a short leash (so to speak) but things are going well. It will just take time.

Yesterday my home was scoped for earthquake repairs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.