Rariora

Usual shopping trip this morning with my friend Jan - only we went to Morrisons instead of Asda.  Made a nice change.  And Jan had a 10% off discount card which she lent me so I saved £10.

Back home to unpack the shopping , scan it and put it away - a job which always takes ages.  Then a big box of stuff arrived - gardening things I had ordered on the internet - so that all needed unpacking and finding a home for.  Then last nights enormous pile of washing up got done - finally.  

I was about to settle down on the computer to get stuck in to reading e mails, doing blip comments, uploading a blip etc.  when Neil came in from work - early finish today.  He was soon out again - to the pub to watch a bit of The Cheltenham Festival.  As he was leaving he asked if I wanted to go to Newcastle to have a meal with him and his girlfriend R.  Well I'm not one for spur of the moment decisions - I would have preferred a bit more notice but I was happy to accept his invite.

Still lots to do before I could go out - including washing my hair and straightening it and dithering about what to wear. Anyway I caught the bus as arranged and Neil caught the same bus from the village and we arrived in town at 6pm.  R came a few mins later and we headed for Zizzi.  I had a tasty meal of chicken with white wine sauce, potatoes and green beans.  It was great to see R and catch up with her news.  Neil never tells me anything about what she's been up to.  She is on the last leg of her uni course and getting projects and coursework sorted ready to graduate. She is doing a fashion course and today she has been making jewellery using acrylic.

After the meal I just got the bus home while Neil and R were going to the pub.  Neil was intending to watch the football - Man City V Barcelona.

It was really frosty this morning and quite misty but it turned out to be another lovely day.  However this evening it was freezing cold.  Neil was soon regretting his decision not to wear a coat.  It certainly wasn't T Shirt weather.

Today's Forum Challenge word is Rariora - meaning a rare collectable item - books, coins,  objects of art etc.  I have chosen to blip a huge  old book entitled " The Metropolitan Police Guide " - Seventh Edition 1922.  I asked Neil did he think this could be classed as rare.   He said -  " Well how many people do you know who have one?"

I also took a shot of the TITLE PAGE which you can see has been stamped " Official Copy Receiver for the Met Police District ".  " Inspectors Office Blackwall Issued 28-10-22 "  is handwritten on another page.  So even if someone had another copy of this book I guess mine is the only one which was used at Blackwall Police Station in 1922.  Does that count as rare?

[ Found out on the internet -   The Thames Division had three police stations on the waterfront, located at Waterloo, Wapping and Blackwall. The station at Blackwall was built in 1893.  It has recently been converted into waterfront flats.]

Both my father in law and my husband Douglas were in the Met. Police  but neither worked at Blackwall.  I assume that Douglas picked the book up in a second hand book shop somewhere.  

Late blip tonight - better press submit before I write any more and the midnight hour passes by.

PS - Thanks to everyone who commented yesterday on my 1,000th blip.  Your kind words are much appreciated.  (  I will shut up now.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.