Dotspan

By Dotspan

"A CHERISHED TREASURE"

Can't believe the whole thing! We're leaving on vacation on Monday and I'm a bit under the weather with ear infection/sinus/cold. No chance of venturing out with 20 degree temps for todays blip.

Sitting at my desk is this treasured bowl that my father had made. What a wonderful person he was. I miss him so much. He passed away at age 54 and it will be 50 years on April 10th. He was born in Greece and sadly his mother died in childbirth. It wasn't long before his father decided to journey to America for all the opportunities that that USA promised. His father soon remarried. My father didn't want to be a carpenter like his father and was determined to learn English and become educated which he did.

So many details - however my father became a teacher and was the pride and joy of his entire family. He was a gifted athlete and played football, basketball and track during high school and college years and also worked to earn monies for tuition . He began teaching as an Industrial Arts teacher and as many teachers do he taught many and varied subjects during his career.

Today's blip is an example of the way he designed and created this pieces using all different woods to make bowls, lamps and tables as gifts and for each of the children.
He was a kind and gentle man and I have such wonderful memories of times when the high students would gather at our home for dinner or to just talk. He coached while he was teaching and loved and respected the students he worked with. He became involved in helping them with not only their school work but also with family issues they were experiencing. This bowl is a symbol of my father -- who he was and how he lived his life. He was an incredible parent. His children came first. He taught us how to play games and how to win and lose. there is so much more I'd like to write but for now -- I do miss him very much and it saddens me that he never go to see our 3 children and our 8 grandchildren.

I apologize for not having time to comment but will soon. This "Blip Community" has added another dimension to my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.