Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Storytelling at the Scran Salon

This evening I went to the second "Scran Salon" event at Hemma Bar in Holyrood Road. Danielle Ellis a.k.a. Edinburgh Foody is pictured here telling stories of her recent volunteering journey to France where she worked in a community bakery baking bread and then going sell it in the local markets. A fascinating tale. Sorry my pic doesn't really show the animation, but I was some distance away and there were lots of people in between me and the speaker.

We also heard from Caroline Rye who is helping to set up a Community Greengrocer in Bruntsfield and Vicky Macdonald who has set up Edinburgh Markets (including the one by St Mary's Cathedral) and has now got a new project called Local Motive which will be holding Art and Craft Fairs in Waverley Station every Friday from early May.

Lots to interest foodies of Edinburgh, and Scran Salon looks to be developing a place in the local calendar for good chat and meeting friends. I was surprised how many people I knew there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.