Ten past Three

It was a fine send off; big Gav managed an excellent eulogy, and the mourners, swelled by members of her luncheon club (I never knew such a thing existed) gave a fine rendition of Jerusalem which brought the rafters down. And it was good to see a few of her old friends who are still with us. Bill, whose wife Olive attended so many of the Wanderers games with her, showed up, old and frail, off the bus, with his walking stick. I guess I'll never see him again. How quickly it all goes past.

The mood in the church hall afterwards however lightened up. We set about the buffet and pressed various grandchildren into serving us cups of tea. Soon there was chat and laughter and much catching up. And later, much later, Gav dished out bowls of rice and curry back at his gaff.
Well, I do believe slapping this up will get me a red camera. Or a reed camera as we pronounce it. Way hey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.