My day

By 59

Little pink rose

The grandchildren came to help me garden today. We planted daffodils, hunted for worms and spread compost I made from fallen leaves last autumn. We also picked these little pink roses which have a bit of history.

They came from a successful cutting I took from an old rose at Hill End which is an historic site in NSW. Hill End was a large town in the gold rush days but now reduced to a village with some lovely little cottages and a few churches. The rose was planted in the Manse next to one of the old churches. I struck a few new plants a few years ago. This one lived in a pot through a couple of house moves and I have finally put it out the front to make sure it survives a few more years. The original rose bush was very old, many of the old plants in Hill End were from the gold rush times but we'll never know for sure.

I am not certain of the name but there are a few similar ones around town in the older houses. The closest I can find is Cecile Brunner. It was raised in France in 1881

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.