Under the table.

My day began at 5:30 am this morning when Miss Tibbs woke me with her strange meow, she'd caught a mouse and was very proud of her yukky rodent prize. When I picked her up (carefully, with her mouth facing away from me!) she dropped it (it was already on its way to mousy heaven) and, after taking a couple of photos of the sunrise, I went back to bed....

Really, who wants to get out of bed at 5:30 on a Sunday morning?!

When I opened the back door at 8:30 am (yes, after all that, I over slept!) the magpie family just about bombarded me in their hurry for food! Mama, daddy and all three babies were there, along with six kookaburras and the usual flocks of noisy miners, rainbow lorikeets, honey eaters and the butcher birds.

This afternoon, during the heat of the day, mama magpie was back again, bringing her tribe of three with her, not for food though but just to hang out in the shade of the garden. I took photos of all four of them individually, but one baby, being more photogenic than his siblings, is my blip for today.

The weather turned summer-ish again, but I hear a storm brewing in the valley. Hopefully we will get some much needed rain and that will cool the air down some.

I'm way behind on journal visits. This happens a lot with me on the weekends, when my family is home and I'm constantly interrupted. I'll catch up tomorrow though. I do like Mondays! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.