Frankie goes to Seahouses

Home again after my adventure. It IS possible to get to Berwick-upon-Tweed from Sheffield in a day using only a bus pass - or at least it is possible on a Saturday and until they do away with being allowed to use South Yorkshire passes on the trains to Leeds at the end of this month. I had a brilliant time - it all went very smoothly. I returned home today on the X18, which follows the Northumberland Coastal Route - fabulous scenery, stopping off for a couple of hours in Seahouses on the way, before catching a train from Newcastle back to Sheffield.
I had only taken my kit lens with me, as I hadn't really expected to have much time for wildlife watching, but was delighted that a group of about 20 Eider Ducks came close enough for me to get some decent shots in the harbour at Seahouses. There were males swimming around, showing off with there Frankie Howerd impersonations, and female looking nonchalant. If you've never heard Eiders, then listen here and you can see my best shot of some females here
Well, I'll try and catch up with everyone tomorrow. It's been a pretty full-on couple of days, but most enjoyable and I'm really glad I did it. The best bits? Apart from the Eider Ducks, I'd recommend the X18, as mentioned, and the Coastliner from Leeds to Whitby which gives some magnificent views across the North York Moors. I've been along the best bits of this route by car, but it is even more spectacular from the top deck of a bus.
Now, where will my bus pass take me next….? Any suggestions?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.