Christmas Picnic

The title may seem to be an anachronism for those in the northern hemisphere, but not here. I had to explain my silly laugh every time I mentioned what I'd be doing this Sunday. So, we've done it, took part in a Christmas picnic. It was great, thanks to my generous employer. Hanna rode a pony called Fairy (there was also Peanut and Star), played with a rabbit and a chicken in a little farmyard, climbed a wall (I wanted to but no other adult did it and the boss was watching), jumped on a bouncy castle for ages, went through a Fun Factory several times, had ice-cream, fairy floss, snags and obviously her face painted. And then the clown came to entertain the kids even more, then Father Chrismas listened to all present requests and gave away lollies (that's sweets in Australianese) and every kid got a proper present too. Even the rain held off, just. What a day! To finish it off we had a stroll though a lovely street with lovely shops full of useless lovely things and I managed to purchase only one lovely thing, surely to be blipped on a boring and uneventful day.

Now off for a barbie. Hard Aussie life, but somebody's got to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.