LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Over the Meldons

The weather forecasters got it wrong again, and after a wet and stormy night, the morning arrived with more of the same.
His Lordship and I had planned a walk up to the hill Loch above Stobo, but instead we took the car to the Pine Tree cafe at Eddleston for a coffee and a sit in front of their wood burning stove. The previous inmates were four cyclists who had dripped copiously over the floor, but were still intent seemingly to continue with their cycle run over the hill to Peebles. I suppose that once you're wet you must as well get just a bit wetter.

After our calorie intake,we drove halfway up the Meldons hoping to get a good view of the surrounding countryside, but the weather was closing in and the views were minimal.
I felt that this bare tree with the reflections in the wet roadway summed up the morning.

We were home in time for EcoDad to deliver a jar of his celebrated jam and one of chutney which I had intended to buy at the local primary school fair yesterday afternoon. However, because when I arrived the queue to get in was out of the door and across the playground and I was cold, I wimped out and ordered it straight from the man himself.
I can vouch for the excellency of the products and the delivery service!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.