An Elephant?

GOG’s title and his choice of picture; my words. Please do not feel you have to read what is below, he wanted a record for future reference and I am sure that once he feels a little better he will happily reply.

Shortly after I took this picture of him yesterday, the GOG complained that he was having some difficulty breathing. However, always on the cautious side and believing himself to be a nuisance, (beliefs left over from long ago), he decided that A and E was not where he wanted to go. He thought he had leant on his ribs when getting up and that the pain would ease and his breathing would get better. However, when he tried to lay down he could not breathe, so I put my foot down and insisted he go to A and E; by then it was almost 2200 hours; he was still protesting when we got there!

To cut a very long story a little shorter, he keeled over in A and E and was promptly surrounded by an ambulance man who happened to be in there at the time, he was swiftly followed by two senior doctors, several nurses and various attendants as well as two trolleys coming from different ends of the waiting room. He was taken to ‘resus’ where after ECG’s, x-rays, CT Scans and Ultra Sound Scans they discovered that he had punctured his right lung. At this point, I also almost keeled over and had doctors and nurses getting me water, putting my feet up etc; I do not usually do this except when I cut myself and I can do this with a paper cut if it is me! After a while I had to wait in the waiting room while they did a procedure and then they took him to the Intermediate Dependency Unit, which is where this picture was taken today. He has four broken ribs and has had three blood transfusions so far. He thinks he will be home in a day or two; I think not!

He now has his iPad and when he is feeling better he will no doubt look at Blip. Clearly he is better tonight than he was yesterday, when asked what he wanted for his tea, he asked for vegetable curry and rice with a yogurt to follow! At his request, I will continue to update his journal while he is in hospital.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.