Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

When is a door not a door.

I had a blip dilemma today. I was walking to the supermarket to get some bits and pieces. As I got up towards the bridge I heard a commotion ahead. There were loads of birds flapping about on or near the pavement and two rolling about on it. As I got closer they parted and one hopped up onto the fence by the pavement. It was clearly some sort of bird of prey, it looked like a hawk of some type maybe about 20% larger than the pigeon it had left in a mess on the ground, but my knowledge of the avian world isn't really good enough to identify it beyond that.

As I said the pigeon was in a bit of a state on the ground and clearly couldn't fly but I seemed to have disturbed the other bird anfd it flew off. I didn't have the heart or stomach to put the pigeon out of it's misery though, and besides I kind of thought maybe it was in shock and could recover. I stood well clear and waited to see if the hawk came back, but no sign of it. It would have made a good blip if I could have got a shot of it. Unfortunately the only shot I could have got to illustrate this story was the pigeon on the ground and that just didn't seem right somehow. Anyway when I came back from the supermarket it was still there and looking well abnd truly dead with no sign of it's attacker, but it still didn't seem right to get a blip of it.

As a result you have this story and a photo of a bricked up door down in Prt Edgar where my daughter does judo to accompany it.

I still feel bad I wasn't able to put the pigeon out of it's misery though. I reckon the hawk would have finished it off if I hadn't disturbed them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.