Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Old Sam Peabody...

That is the mnemonic for the song of the white-throated sparrow. I don't necessarily hear that when I hear their sweet song, but that doesn't lesson my enjoyment of it one bit. This bird has one of the sweetest songs ever - a high, clear, belllike whistle that can't be mistaken for anything else. They are one of our "winter sparrows" who show up in the fall and leave to head to their northern breeding grounds in the spring. So, I thought it would be nice to blip one before they leave. And it didn't hurt that this one posed so beautifully for me, even showing me his lovely yellow eye brows.

My alternative shot was a close up of the mockingbird which is posted on Flickr, along with six other shots from today, starting here.

Busy day today. I spent several hours working on a photo collage for my FIL's memorial service next week. It was oddly soothing to go through old family photos, remembering times gone by.

Three more sleeps until I leave for FL for the Great Blip Meet. And can I say that I am very excited about it! The lovely people who've organized this have planned all kinds of wonderful wildlife photo ops for us. I'm taking two emtpy 32g memory cards and plan to fill them while I'm there. Somewhere in FL, there is a gator with my name on it - just waiting for me and Big Daddy...

Later, good people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.