Crazy Overstuffed Life

By Allison

The Tree Slayers Have Arrived

For two years I opposed the ugly, poorly- integrated monstrosity of a condo townhouse development which is going in two doors down, ultimately with very minimal success. Unless one has hundreds of thousands to throw around on expert witnesses, our pro-developer City Council makes it impossible for residents to preserve the character of their neighbourhoods. I don't have that kind of money, and ultimately needed to fold my tent and push as hard as I could for some modest site plan conditions.

The large treed backyards and quiet tree-lined street have made my home a special place for the almost 12 years we've lived here. Today is the beginning of the end. About the only thing I can say that has been good about the harsh winter has been delaying this. But it is here.

A sad day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.