Igor

By Igor

DDW Challenge; nimiety - overabundance

I got this one all wrong. I missed the four letter word tacked on to the beginning of 'abundance'. I lay in bed thinking about ‘enough’ or ‘plenty’. But more than enough? That’s a hard one.

Well - it’s a hard one to make into a photograph. Especially one that needs to pass the scrutiny of discerning blippers. I have more than enough ways of passing the time. And with a degree in procrastination, I can turn the simplest task into a lifetime’s work.

I have more than enough cameras. More than enough tools in the garage. And certainly more than enough cook books. How many people buy a cook book and end up using just one recipe? (Apart from me).

Looking around my study, I notice that I have a lot of maps and guide books. If I think about it, I have more than enough for my needs - and far more than the number of places I’ll ever get round to visiting. I mention this to Anniemay and she gives me that look which suggests I’m rather over stating the obvious.

I used to play in a band with the greatest mandolin player ever to break out of the Milton Keynes Delta. He was in a musical instrument shop in New York one time, drooling over a $3,000 instrument. He didn’t buy it and as he left the shop the owner called after him; “you’ll never run out of money, you’ll only ever run out of time”.

That little pearl will keep me in cameras and guide books and anything else I think I 'need', for some time to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.