Shine-A-Light

By gblrps

Brassed Off!

According to their card this is the NYOS (National Youth Orchestra JAZZ Of Scotland).

I'm not sure where the 'Jazz' comes in as I didn't really hear anything I would have described as Jazz. I'm not sure what the first few pieces were but they were very good and a credit to young Scottish Musicianship.

Then they started into some Christmas carol music. Normally this would get get me quietly seething but today is 1st December and that's when things change. Up until 1st December I won't have anything to do with anything Christmas related. That included Blip Christmas related pictures by the way. However its now December so all that has changed and I will start commenting on Christmas themed images and probably include some myself. Compliments of the season everyone!

Anyway, back to NYOS. I felt sorry for them as during the time I was there they were not getting much of an audience. There were 3 fairly obvious reasons for this - 1) they were very close to Borders Bookshop which sadly was having a closing down sale, 2) Clanadonia were playing just a few yards up the road at Starbucks, 3) Starbucks were giving out free coffee in the other direction.

I hope things picked up for them after I left as they were clearly very talented.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.