Soviet Spy?

Ok, don't know if you can stand two photos of me two days running but couldn't resist it.
Today I was giving tours up in the Vulcan Cockpit (XM569) and some friends from Vulcan to the Sky Club turned up. One of them took this photograph of me, with my camera so it's Blip Legal I guess!

Seems appropriate to wear my Soviet military hat in a Cold War Bomber even if they were on different sides of the Iron Curtain.

Little story about the hat - I may have told this before so ignore this bit if you've heard it!
I bought the hat in Kiev when I was passing through on my way to Komsomolsk, Ukraine, at a market selling all sorts of Soviet militaria.
I asked "How much is the hat?"
"US$21.00" the stall keeper said
"You must be joking" I replied "I'll give you US$7.00" thinking that I'd learned something about bargaining in my Middle East years.
"Dah, OK" he said!
"DOH!!" I thought, "Should have started at US$3.00"!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.