A useful morning doing chores, then I set out forFuture Forest - a very green (!) garden centre near Ballyvourney - complete with rather funky thatched compost toilets! The drive out is magnificent - turn right at Ballylickey and then inland up intop the mountains. Miraculously the sun was shining for part of the journey and everywhere looked so green and glistening. I just loved the rich colours of the pasture and the salmon pink of the farm, complete with lots of little bouncing lambs - do biggify. The peaks though were covered in snow. Future Forest had a fantastic varieties of goodies - spoilt for choice and a lot of money could have been spent but I restrained myself to three native Irish apple trees and five blueberry plants.
It started to hail as I wandered around but shortly after the sun shone and I decided to go on to Gougane Barra Conditions were arctic - the wind roaring across right the lake. The visit was short.
Back home - tea and hot cross buns - I noticed an eel on the grass! Quite a big one. For once I'm not blaming the cats but suspect a heron must have dropped it. Himself came to inspect it and reckoned it was still alive - just - and popped it into the pond.
We might go and see The Grand Budapest Hotel later - has anyone seen it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.