Home comforts

Back home, finally. A long and complex trip, culminating in a happy - if exhausting - day in London yesterday.

After an early start in my Gatwick hotel room and an uneventful journey north, I've spent the day taking stock. It's been an amazing trip with some highlights and one or two unexpected excitements. It's resulted in more plans to spend a longer period of time in one city. But whilst I was away, a friend and former PhD student lost her father to cancer and my uncle in the US also died.

I've come home to fresh bread, domestic tasks piled high (including the purchase of kitchen lights and carpets for the flat we are renovating), and so many photographs to sort out that I don't know when I will ever do it. I felt awful earlier on, but an extended nap on my chair seems to have sorted that out, but I'm sure I'll be heading for my rest just as soon as I decently can this evening. I feel as if I have quite a lot of sleeping to catch up on (as well as blipping and commenting).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.