Doremigirl

By Doremigirl

RIGHT OVER ME

81 . 365

This is a Turkey Vulture that flew over the grassy lands where our son was practicing pitching. A group of vultures loomed in a far away distance, circling high signaling something. It took no time for this one to come to where we were. Seeing this vulture come toward us, our son dropped his ball and glove and played "dead" so that I can get a nice shot (he's a ham - always making this mama laugh).

These creatures are so big and rather ugly. Apparently they have a huge nostril perforation, so big that one can see through their beak. This helps them to smell fresh carcasses.

I wonder how this one lost some feathers. A good writing prompt for some students, I think!

Happy Saturday! I'm afraid I'm beginning to experience what Curiouscalvin has - coughing and aching all over. Let's hope for a 1-day thing :-D

Today's music - I don't know why, but looking at the vulture makes me think of Michael Jackson's Smooth Criminal

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.