Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Morning in Hoxton

I set off early for a meeting at the News of the World, but my picture editor called to delay when I was on my way. This gave me a chance to pop in and see Damien at White Cube in Hoxton. The work here was rather more mannered than the skull/lemon combination at The Wallace Collection, but I liked it more. The ground floor consisted of black crows and I laughed when I saw the two gallery assistants, both dressed in black reading unfurled books in the corner. I asked if they were part of the work, they initially said no, but on reflection said 'possibly', I told them they were Damiens elegant heavies!

After a coffee, encounter with a pleading plant and walk along the market I took a look at some wall advertising and graffitti which is gradually moving back into the area after a big clean up.

Back in Wapping I stop off at one of my favourite haunts Wapping Beach, where if someone is going to murder you and dump you in the Thames, likely as not you will wash up. Although you could wash up anywhere in Wapping at the moment, the tide is so high.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.