Hitchcock's Dream

Today was a day of rest and recreation. We all needed it. I suggested we drive down to the Skagit Valley to see if the daffodils were out. In the small rural valley in the county just south of us, there is a world renowned area for growing bulbs. More tulips are grown there than anywhere in the United States. And they grow daffodils too. In April they have a tulip festival and thousands of people go to see the tulip fields and visit a couple of the local farms where they have show gardens and cut flowers and bulbs for sale. At this time of year, the tulips are not in view. But the daffodils are. So we tootled down to see some.

There were fields of yellow, all clearly marked, "no parking" and "no trespassing." I do understand because during the tulip festival it is a zoo down there. I expect the locals are not amused except for the influx of business. So visiting the month before is not encouraged. No worries. We stopped and took a few photos but none that said "this is my blip" to me. And then an amazing thing happened. We came upon a huge flock of Snow Geese in a field about 100 yards away from us. They circled a bit and then settled into what looked like a field of white flowers. We stopped the car. Parking was not a problem because we were not in front of a daffodil field. And we waited. Then we heard the sound of birds in the distance and the whole flock rose and flew back and forth over the fields. What a sight! And what a sound. They flew over our heads and then went off toward Anacortes to find another field to settle in for a while.

Mostly we just stared and enjoyed the sight and the sound. But luckily I had brought my telephoto lens and got a few decent photos. This one was my favorite. It does remind me a bit of Hitchcock's The BIrds.

After our visit to the valley, we drove back home via Edison where we stopped at Tweets for a delicious late afternoon dinner. Then we drove up Chuckanut Drive to home. It was a wonderful day of fun and relaxation.

I finished the photo book I've been working on. You can see it on the Mixbook site. It is for sale there but I don't get any profit from the sale. I hope it is okay to post this link here. Blip staff, if it is not okay, please delete this paragraph. Thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.