Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Looking for love

I spent the day surrounded by incredible birds, wild horses, alligators and a host of other amazing creatures...and I am blipping a tiny green lizard. Some might say I am crazy, but this will always remind me of this day, these people, this great adventure.

Twenty of us set out this morning - people from Europe and North America with a common love of nature and photography. We took thousands of photos and we shared excitement, wonder, and laughter.

As I was snapping shots of this little chameleon, he suddenly displayed his bright orange neck - a total shock to me. We don't have lizards where I live so the mere fact that I was seeing a lizard was amazing enough, never mind that dazzling orange neck! The Floridians in the group had a good laugh at the rest of us who were clustered around the hapless lizard, shutters clicking. As for the lizard...I think he was secretly thrilled to have an international paparazzi contingent... (and I learned that the dazzling red display is his way of attracting a mate ...he's looking for love...)

Signing off from Florida...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.