GEMAX Photographics

By gemaxphoto

MONOMONDAY: Portrait

For the MONOMONDAY: Portrait challenge hosted by Hobbs, I've returned to my project on 'environmental' portraits in the Sydney suburb or Wetherill Park where I work.

This is Sophia, harvesting Viburnum in the market garden plot that her family has held for more than 60 years. This variety of Viburnum is an evergreen waxy leaved shrub often used by florists in their flower arrangements. Sophia was a little reluctant until I explained that I didn't require her to pose for a close-up, but that the 'environmental' portrait would be taken with a slightly wide angle (approx. 35mm equivalent 'street' lens) of her surrounded by her work.

Her market garden is very interesting in that it is entirely surrounded by the industrial buildings that typify a large part of Wetherill Park. It is a delightful, quirky patch of green in a sea of concrete & glass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.