Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

"I didn't expect that!"

I thought that I was going to fail to find a portrait for Hobbs MonoMonday Challenge, which is a portrait today.

I went walking on the moors near Goatstones and the Ravensheugh Crags to sort out a piece of route that was difficult on my first recce (in heavy mist and high winds). Today the sky was bright blue with a few fluffy clouds. There was still some ice on shady paths after lunchtime, but skylarks took to the air and I was in seventh heaven.

The problem was that the only living creatures sharing the experience with me were sheep and the birds. I found a sheep's skull and photographed it at the Goatstones stone circle. Then, just 1/4 mile from the car I met this farmer and his dog, Harry. We chatted, as you do, and then I plucked up courage to ask for his portrait. You can see by his squinting that it was very sunny.

Harry is 5 years old. He cost £2000 when bought, fully trained, at 2. He clearly adores his master and I think the feeling is reciprocated.

The farmer uttered the words "I didn't expect that!" when I took off my gloves to stroke Harry, revealing my glittery, purple nails from Saturday's party. We had a good laugh about them.

PS You can be glad not to see the sheep's skull, but it may appear another time!

PPS This route is part of a wonderful 13 mile walk on Thursday May 1st in Haltwhistle Walking Festival - just in case you would like to join me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.