0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"How long have you been into Spiritualism?"
"Nearly all my life"
"Can you remember the event which made you open your eyes to it?"
"Yes, it was Ravi Shankar. I went to see him at the theatre in town in the 60's, when I was a teenager...I'm learning to play the Sitar at the moment"
"How's that going?"
"It's extremely difficult. They don't write the music down so you basically have to learn from somebody playing it. You need a good teacher...and a lifetime's study."



I decided to visit some pals of mine in the covered market today. They have opened a new food place so thought I'd go and see them and try out their new menu. After a very tasty snack, I decided to have a cuppa and take a walk round the market, which is where I spotted Terry.

I liked his spiritualistic style and enquired about his scarf. He told me it was Hindu (the red writing), and we started talking about the faith and how he came into it.

When we got onto the subject of the Sitar, Terry got quite excited and showed me a picture of it on his phone, telling me his girlfriend bought it for him on his 60th birthday. Six years on and he is still trying to find a decent teacher.

It's a wonderful sound, have a listen :)


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.