Selcouth

It was really sunny all today but the sun was deceiving as it was still rather cold. I just pottered around indoors most of the day. The new brochure for The Theatre Royal in Newcastle is out and today was the first day for public booking. So I went online and bought tickets for Jeeves and Wooster in October and Barnum in February.

This evening I went to Slimming Club. I was expecting to have put weight on as I missed it last week and while I have been recovering from the op I haven't been sticking to the plan - been eating too much chocolate - didn't buy any for myself - just ate Neil's.... sshh don't tell him. So tonight I found out I had put on 3 pounds. Feel OK about that and I'm back on plan as of today.

Neil had a day off today and he was supposed to be doing a Coastal Walk for charity arranged by his workplace but he wasn't fit enough to take part. He spent the day in bed suffering from injuries he got while playing rugby on Saturday - a bad back and various scrapes and bruises. Glad he was able to rest up today.

Today the word for DDW's Forum Challenge is Selcouth which means strange, unusual, rare, unfamiliar, marvellous or wondrous. Some might think this little bird is common but its unusual to me as I have never seen one before. I first spotted it in my garden a couple of days ago but I didn't have my camera handy. Today I decided to "" lurk " in the kitchen with my camera in the hope it would appear. Thankfully it did. Its a Female Great Spotted Woodpecker - its about the same size as a blackbird. Had to check on the internet to find out what it was. The shot isn't as clear as I would like as I took it through the kitchen window.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.