home and about

By nette

American Bittern

After watching grandaughter N this morning, I made a quick trip to the Wakodahatchee wetlands boardwalk. Got some good shots of a Purple Gallinule, and a tri-colored Heron and it's egg in a nest. But we so rarely see the Bittern, and when we do, it's a fast flight from one hiding place to another, that I was suprised to see this one stay in view of the boardwalk for so long. (even though it blends so well with it's surroundings, that I'm sure some people that walked past me couldn't tell what I was pointing my camera at) There is a mixture of tourists, walkers that enjoy the 1 mile circle of boardwalk, families trying to entertain children, birders with binoculars, and photographers there- although it seems that there are more and more BIG camera people there lately...maybe just because there are so many birds nesting right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.