Pea Souper

Not the most exciting shot I've ever taken, but I do quite like it.

Also it sums up today's weather very well. Ordinarily I wouldn't find anything that exciting about a sea haar, but today was a bit different.

I was just about to lift breakfast when my pager went off. I was down in time to make the crew for the launch, although a few others also arrived after me. It turned out that ten people had been caught out by the Neap tide on Crammond. A fairly straightforward job, however today saw a combination of two metre swells and visibility of less than 100 metres once we were out past Hounds Point.

Thankfully a combination of a very experienced helm, along with two very experienced crew on the plotter and radar meant we got there in timely fashion and got all ten back to Crammond harbour quickly and safely. Thankfully there was enough water to get them into Crammond as with the conditions out in the middle of the Forth if we'd had to take them back to Queensferry they's have been a bit cold and wet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.