The Mission

A couple of weeks ago I went looking for photos on Great North Road, and blipped this one. As I continued on after taking that photograph, I came across a man struggling with a walker (Zimmer frame sort of thing). He was on his knees, and unable to get it organised in order to stand up. I stopped and offered to help. We established that one of the wheels had snapped off, and it was therefore unstable, with just three wheels. I asked if I could help him get where he wanted to go. After telling me was heading to The Mission, he asked if I had a car; I told him that I was just out walking. But I was more than happy to help him stand and get home. Whereupon he became foul-mouthedly abusive telling me where to go, and he could manage without me. I left and then watched from a distance and saw that he was successfully managing to walk with the three wheeled frame. I left him to it.

This is where he was headed. Without investigating too closely, I think that the man sunbathing on the steps is my ‘friend’ from two weeks ago. Until I looked to find The Mission, this building had been just part of the local structure. I did a bit of a search and found some interesting information; a highly summarised history is given below. Look here for more detailed information.

The Grey Lynn Roman Catholic parish established a school, a church and a convent on Great North Road. The convent was a large two story wooden building re-erected on the site after being moved from nearby Turakina Street. In 1921 it was burned down, without any loss of life. Two days after the fire, the parish Priest (Father Holbrook) began fund raising. On Sunday 27 November the foundation stone of a new St Josephs Convent was laid by His Excellency the Apostolic Delegate, Most Reverend Dr Cattaneo. Within 12 months the building was completed (having cost 12,000 pounds). It was designed as a residence for the nuns and 50 boarders. There was also a chapel within the building, with a fine marble altar.

The convent was used for boarders until the 1960s. From then until the late 1980s it was used by the nearby St Joseph’s school. In the 1990s it fell into disuse, until bought by the present owners who use it as a low cost residential lodge, called The Mission. I don't know what low cost actually means. The sign attached to the fence by the entry from the street, has been altered and currently reads that rooms are available for $1. Therefore I guess that low cost is in excess of $100, a substantial sum out of someone's benefit.

Architecturally, the building melds classical Italian style with Spanish Mission as well as classical Georgian styles.


This photo was taken on Great North Road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.