Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Tiger

Identification - Danaus chrysippus - plain tiger.

I don’t see these as often as I was two years ago, and even when I do, they are incredibly difficult to approach. However, I managed to sneak up on this specimen to within a yard. I could not get square on to nail the wing detail, so used the opportunity to get some head detail of this handsome butterfly.

A close relation to the monarch, which the caterpillar feeds on plants that are distasteful, even poisonous to its predators. The toxins carry through to the butterfly stage of development and so birds see this fine livery as a warning, to be avoided. As a result of this, many other unrelated species have evolved to similar liveries, rendering them too, safe from predators.

Mimicry in evolution is a powerful defense and always amazes me how it happens. A series of morphs and mutations occurring over millions of years.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.