Ēostre

The time is approaching when we celebrate the pagan festival of Ēostre (or Ostara). I do not see anything in this display which would remind us of the similarly named Christian festival of Easter, so it must be Ēostre we are celebrating.

How celebrating a German goddess leads us to bunnies, eggs and fluffy yellow chickens may not be entirely clear without further research, though the connection with Spring is fairly obvious. When we had a poultry farm the chickens were delivered when they were roughly a day old. At that stage in their life they are even cuter than most representations of them. We did have to be careful where we put our feet.

Today I used my final coupon for the free coffee and a cake, or fruit tart in my case. Hopefully I will receive a fresh supply of coupons. I was concerned to observe the fruit tarts seem to have shrunk since the last time I had one. Again strawberry tarts were not in evidence.

Still cloudy and cold. If this is Spring, when will it get brighter and warmer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.